Course Information

Course Information

Register Now
City: Online, Online  Dates: Jul 7 – 14, 2024
Type: Part A Course #: CA24A014
Instructor: Fiona MacKenzie
PT, Dip. MDT
Course Cost: $695.00
Course Location: Map It!
McKenzie Institute Canada
Online
MICanada Online Event, NA XXX XXX
Cosponsor: Aileen Conway
McKenzie Institute Canada

Schedule and Other Important Information (if applicable)

Eligibility: Space on this course is currently being reserved for Canadian clinicians practicing in SK, MB, ON as well as clinicians located in the Northern and Atlantic Regions of Canada. In addition, Canadian clinicians that have previously taken Part A wishing to retake (audit) this course, can also register for this course regardless of where they practice in Canada. The course includes 4 online training sessions. This course will also include 3-4 legitimate patient demonstrations.

A special audit rate applies on this course for clinicians that have previously taken Part A. The special audit rate is $200.00. Pro Plan members will receive a rate of $150.00. Adjustment will be made after registration and before the payment is processed.

Session 1: You will complete by yourself online at your own pace.

Session 2: 07JUL24 (SUN) will take place online, with live instruction
5.00am until 9.30am Pacific Time
8.00am until 12.30pm Eastern Time
9.00am until 1.30pm Atlantic Time

Sessions 3 & 4: 13-14JUL (SAT&SUN) will take place online, with live instruction
6.00am until 1.15pm Pacific Time
9.00am until 4.15pm Eastern Time
10.00am until 5.15pm Atlantic Time

Registrants will require an adult asymptomatic practice (patient) model for 2 hours during Session 4. The tentative time for the practice model will be from 8.30am - 10.30am Pacific Time and 12.30pm until 2.30pm Atlantic Time. The practice patient model can be a friend, a family member or a work colleague.

Course status: CONFIRMED
The website will be updated once we receive enough registrations to run the course as planned.

This course introduces the theoretical aspects and concepts of the McKenzie Method in Mechanical Diagnosis and Therapy (MDT), as it is applied to the musculoskeletal system. The focus of this course is the assessment, classification and management of patients with complaints of low back, related referred pain and functional limitations. The principles of MDT and how they apply in the context of the biopsychosocial framework of managing patients with musculoskeletal pain and functional limitations will be a key focus. The participants will explore and extensively practice the MDT assessment, classification and management process through lectures, workshops, discussions, and patient demonstrations. The classifications of Derangement, Dysfunction and Postural syndromes are described in detail and appropriate management plans are discussed, with emphasis on the use of patient self-treatment procedures and education. Indications for the use of clinician procedures will also be discussed and the procedures demonstrated and practiced. Follow-up patient demonstrations will illustrate the reassessment process and allow participants to get a realistic feel and understanding of the impact of the MDT system on differing patient presentations over 2-3 treatment sessions.